What is your long-term goal?

I have one exam and one assignment to go. That is it. In one week, I will have finished my four year degree.

I was asked recently, ‘what is your long-term goal?’. For once in my life, I was actually speechless.

My ‘long-term’ (at least it had seemed long term) goal had consisted of working hard at uni, achieving the best GPA possible, finishing my degree and then passionately teaching maths and/ or art to high school kids somewhere.

However, when I was asked the question recently, I realised that the once seemingly massive task of completing my degree was almost complete. I had focused so much energy into doing well in exams, assignments, pracs and internships that somewhere along the way, I forgot that this was all leading somewhere.

I began thinking back to the reasons I began the degree in the first place. There are many reasons, but a few pivotal moments stand out.

When I was in middle primary school, I was truly over-excited about learning. I would come home, quickly open my homework sheet, complete it, parade around with it in front of my parents and then set about creating a ‘homework’ sheet for my younger sister to complete. I loved teaching her new things. Though I had waited a few years after high school to begin formal study, I think that becoming a teacher was predetermined.

This passion for teaching and sharing what I knew continued throughout my life. It was then extended through travel, where I realised my passion for teaching overseas as well as helping those who are less fortunate.

The passion still exists. The degree has almost been attained. So, where do I see myself in 2, 5, 10, 20 years? What will be in store for the Rickard’s, long-term?

I think the answer here is teaching internationally and participating in long-term volunteer/ charity projects within the country. Ideally, of course.

How has USQ assisted with this? I have attained (almost) an internationally recognised degree from a university which is highly regarded throughout the world for its Education program. It is because of USQ’s connections with partner-schools around the world that I was given the opportunity to teach in Thailand, as one of my pracs. I have been given great guidance from lecturers, have met a wonderful bunch of like-minded friends and have found my inner-confidence.

The journey has been challenging. This is felt most during exam block, the current time of this semester. However, I think it is important to be reminded that this is a road which is leading somewhere – to a realisation of your hopes and dreams, the achievement of a goal in which you have chosen.

For me, it is with an excited heart that I reveal the new chapter in which I am about to begin, thanks to my journey here…

I have secured a mathematics teaching position in Bangkok, Thailand!

Thank you for sharing the latter part of my journey with me through my blogs. All the best.

This entry was posted in Open, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , by Chloe - USQ Student Blogger. Bookmark the permalink.

About Chloe - USQ Student Blogger

Hi – my name’s Chloe. I am extremely excited as I am about to embark on my final semester of a four year degree, here at the USQ Toowoomba campus. I have been studying a Bachelor of Education (Secondary), majoring in visual art and mathematics. These clearly sit on the opposite ends of the academic spectrum, but I love the different experiences that I come across in teaching both subjects and feel very fortunate that I have been able to study these areas together through USQ. Before I began studying at university, I knew that I wanted to follow a career in education. However, it has been through my time here at USQ that I have really found out who I am and what I am passionate about. I have learnt through study, research and travel that I am also very passionate about social justice and volunteering. I have followed this passion through participating in many volunteer opportunities within USQ, the broader Toowoomba community and internationally (teaching children in Cambodia). I am heavily involved in selling Red Thread Bracelets (helping girls in Nepal) and am currently in the process of developing my own charity (raising money to educate very poor children in Cambodia). I am really looking forward to the opportunities that lie ahead of completing my study, however I know that I will be really sad to leave USQ.!

2 thoughts on “What is your long-term goal?

Leave a Reply

