A Formal Distraction

I think I can safely say on behalf of everyone around the world who is studying, we all need a long holiday to revitalise our minds. Even though we’re only into the third week of this short term, I have already completed 2 assignments with another 3 due this week. With 7 due this term, I’m sure I’m not the only one who will celebrate when it’s all over. I cannot wait for the holidays, a time where I do not have to think about how to manage a crisis or which grab to use from an interview.

Thankfully, living on college has its perks. Concannon is full of distractions for those moments when my brain is too fried to string together a logical sentence. So instead of thinking about stressful things such as assignments and exams, I am going to take you to a land not so far away where Golf Day and Formal are an annual distraction from the lead up to those pesky exams.

The first Thursday back at Concannon, groups of 4 crowded around Clifton Golf Course in crazy costumes armed with cans of Red Bull to give us wings – or at least our golf balls. As can be expected from a group of girls in the hot sun and uncomfortable costumes, we completed the first two holes before having a well-deserved break which lasted the entire afternoon. A BBQ lunch and a few drinks later, the day ended with a bus ride home full of rowdy singing boys.

The hype of Golf Day did not last long with preparations for Formal becoming stressful leading up to the event. Formal is the time of year that everyone anticipates. It reminds us of high-school graduation, except this time most of us can drink. With a few things going horribly wrong (smoking lights) there was stress that the decorations could possibly become a fire hazard. To the relief of our social co-ordinator, Rianna, the night went off without a hitch. The girls were ready several hours before-hand, while the boys were running a little bit late, particularly my boyfriend, Dean, who was putting his tie on 2 minutes before the group photo. However, the dining hall beautifully displayed the Winter Wonderland theme and the non-alcoholic daiquiris were a hit!


While it is very important to get assignments completed and handed in on time, it’s just as important to remember to relax and let go every now and then. By organising time for Concannon events into my study schedule, I can revitalise my mind to string those simple-but-complex-sounding sentences together and hopefully get better grades.

Now, I guess I should get back to studying.

This entry was posted in P-platers and tagged , , , , , , , , , by Meg - USQ Student Blogger. Bookmark the permalink.

About Meg - USQ Student Blogger

Hi, my name is Meg or Megan if you really want to get my attention. I am now halfway through my degree as a full-time on-campus residential student at USQ Toowoomba. When I say full-time, I mean I live on college as well. I have been studying a Bachelor of Communication, majoring in journalism and public relations. This degree allows me to study something I love – talking, and explore possible career opportunities, which is great because I’m still figuring out what I want to do. Last year I hopped on a plane from sunny Townsville, escaping my two annoying brothers, for breezy Toowoomba. Moving to a new town where I didn’t know anyone, living on-campus was the obvious choice, and it was the best decision I could have made. While juggling the social-expectations and academics demands of uni and college life can sometimes be a handful, I wouldn’t trade it for anything! It’s easy for me to spend time with my friends while living on-campus. There are always fun activities to partake in such as the Residential Shield competitions between colleges or dress-up themes at the uni club. During these activities you can usually find me behind a camera snapping away. In-between telling the B Block boys to turn their music down and baking cupcakes, I love watching crime shows, especially ones with hunky main characters! I do however, need to exercise to make sure the cupcakes don’t make a lasting impression – thank goodness for friends to exercise with. While I am passionate about music, being woken up at 3am by someone’s bass does test my love. I’m sure as the semester goes on you’ll learn more about who I am and the crazy adventures that take place both at uni and on college. I hope you enjoy! Meg

Leave a Reply

